FAQ

What are 'Chinese herbs'?

'Chinese herbs' is actually a somewhat misleading description for a heterogeneous collection of plants (parts) that have undergone one or more specific preparations. It is therefore not necessarily plants that are exclusively from China. What is specific is the quirky choice of the plant parts used (carrot, leaf, seed, fruit, stem, etc.) and the method of preparation. Moreover, these ingredients are almost exclusively combined in formulas.

What are Chinese herbal formulas?

Historically developed and proven combinations that exhibit a functional pattern that supports physiological, body-like functions within the homeostatic range. The selection of herbs that can strengthen or control each other in a synergetic way, which guarantees a mild effect, is characteristic of the classical Chinese herbal formulas. Also, the refined combination of the basic flavors (bitter, sharp, sweet, salt and sour) generate a subtle balance between constructive and purifying activity.

How does Chinese herbs differ from Western herbs?

Although both aim at the same goal, the approach is fundamentally different. Western herbs are used either individually or in small combinations as infusions; 'Chinese herbs' usually in larger combinations such as decoction (= cooked together). You can state that simplifying Western herbalism puts more emphasis on the analytical and Chinese herbal medicine focuses more on the synthetic. The first is based on the content substances of the plant and then searches on which domain they are applicable. Chinese herbal science is based on the observation of the domain and then searches for the plant components that can be applied to it.

How does a TCM dry extract granulate come about?

The original preparation, almost always a decoct in water, is evaporated and thus reduced to a concentrated, viscous mass. This is dispersed in a 'Flow coater' tunnel. At the same time, microparticles of powder from the same plant are pushed through that tunnel. The concentrate adheres to the powder particle and the resulting granule is then completely dehydrated. It requires between 50 and 60 kg of raw herb starting material to produce 10 kg of dry extract. At each stage there is in-process control to verify that the total chemical profile of the original solution is retained until the final product.

In other words: the granules must be 100% phyto-equivalent (this means that the chemical profile must be identical to the profile of the prepared aqueous solution) and also maximum bio-equivalent (e.g. the bio-availability both qualitatively and quantitatively comparable with the aqueous solution).

What is the difference with other extracts (hydro-alcoholic, alcoholic and supercritical extracts) and other methods of preparation (powders, tinctures, hydrophilic concentrates, etc.)?

The traditional decoct is, with a few exceptions, always the reference to refer to the specific characteristics, working mechanisms and possible risk assessment as described in the traditional literature.

The standardized use of unprocessed ground herbs (powder), hydro-alcoholic, alcoholic and supercritical extracts, tinctures, etc. have little or nothing to do with the specific homeostatic domain as described in traditional literature:

  • Chemical profile is substantially different from the traditional reference (totum, total spectrum).
  • The bio-availability is qualitatively and quantitatively different.
  • The safety profile is not comparable and not traditionally tested. The traditional literature gives very specific indications when it is useful or necessary to use a different method of preparation. This for quality and/or safety reasons. The linear standardization of a traditional preparation into a cocktail of mono-components brings no added value and distorts the traditional safety profile.

How are the extract granules best taken?

Most patients mix the granules with warm water and drink it between meals. For children, it may be appropriate to mix the granules under food (such as applesauce) because of the taste.

Which dose is recommended?

For both extract granules, capsules or tablets; please consult your therapist.

EVERYTHING ON CONCENTRATED HERBS

FAQ

Qu'entend-on par « plantes chinoises » ?

Le terme « plantes chinoises » est en réalité une description qui prête quelque peu à confusion, utilisée pour désigner un ensemble hétérogène de (parties de) plantes qui ont subi une ou plusieurs préparations spécifiques. Il ne s'agit donc pas nécessairement de plantes qui poussent uniquement en Chine. Ce qui est par contre spécifique, c'est le choix constant des parties de la plante utilisées (racine, feuille, graine, fruit, tige etc.) ainsi que le mode de préparation. De plus, ces ingrédients sont presque exclusivement combinés en formules.

Que sont les formules de plantes chinoises ?

Des combinaisons développées au fil du temps et éprouvées, présentant un schéma fonctionnel qui soutient les fonctions physiologiques de l'organisme dans le domaine homéostatique. Les formules de plantes chinoises se caractérisent par la sélection de plantes qui, en synergie, peuvent soit se renforcer, soit se contrôler, pour obtenir une action modérée. La combinaison raffinée des goûts de base (amer, piquant, salé, sucré et acide) génère par ailleurs un équilibre subtil entre activité constructive et purificatrice.

En quoi les plantes chinoises diffèrent-elles de leurs cousines occidentales ?

Bien que les deux visent le même objectif, l'approche est fondamentalement différente. Les plantes occidentales sont utilisées individuellement ou en combinaisons réduites, sous forme d’infusion, tandis que les plantes chinoises le sont généralement en combinaisons plus complexes et en décoction (« faire bouillir ensemble »). Pour simplifier à l'extrême, on peut dire que l'herboristerie occidentale insiste davantage sur l'analyse, et sa consœur chinoise sur la synthèse. La première part des substances contenues dans la plante et cherche dans quel domaine les appliquer. La seconde part de l'observation du domaine pour chercher ensuite les composants végétaux qui peuvent s'y appliquer.

Comment un extrait sec granulé de la MTC est-il fabriqué ?

La préparation originale, qui est presque toujours une décoction dans l'eau, est évaporée et réduite à une masse concentrée et visqueuse. Celle-ci est dispersée dans un tunnel à flux d’enrobage. En même temps, des micro-particules de poudre de la même plante sont injectées dans le tunnel. Le concentré adhère aux particules de poudre, et le granule qui en résulte est ensuite entièrement déshydraté. Il faut entre 50 et 60 kilos de plante brute pour obtenir 10 kilos d'extrait sec. Chaque étape fait l'objet d'un contrôle des processus afin de vérifier que le profil chimique total de la solution initiale reste préservé jusqu'au stade du produit fini.

Autrement dit, le granule doit être 100% phyto-équivalent (ce qui signifie que le profil chimique doit être identique à celui de la solution aqueuse préparée) et aussi bio-équivalent que possible (ce qui signifie que la bio-disponibilité doit être comparable à celle de la solution aqueuse, tant du point de vue qualitatif que quantitatif).

Quelle est la différence avec d'autres extraits (hydro-alcooliques, alcooliques et supercritiques) et d'autres modes de préparation (poudres, teintures, concentrés hydrophiles etc.) ?

À quelques exceptions près, la décoction traditionnelle est toujours la référence pour renvoyer aux caractéristiques, aux mécanismes d'action et à l'éventuelle évaluation des risques spécifiques décrits dans la littérature traditionnelle.

L'utilisation standardisée de plantes moulues non traitées (poudre), d'extraits hydro-alcooliques, alcooliques et supercritiques, de teintures etc. n'a rien à voir ou presque avec le domaine homéostatique spécifique tel qu'il est décrit dans la littérature traditionnelle.

  • Le profil chimique diffère substantiellement de la référence traditionnelle (totum, spectre total).
  • La bio-disponibilité est différente, tant en qualité qu'en quantité.
  • Le profil de sécurité n'est ni comparable ni vérifié par la tradition. La littérature traditionnelle fournit des indications très précises stipulant quand il est utile ou indispensable d'utiliser un autre mode de préparation, toujours pour des raisons de qualité et/ou de sécurité. La standardisation linéaire d'une préparation traditionnelle pour en faire un cocktail de mono-composants n'apporte aucune valeur ajoutée et falsifie le profil de sécurité traditionnel.

Quelle est la meilleure façon de prendre les extraits granulés ?

La plupart des patients les mélangent à de l'eau chaude et les boivent entre les repas. Pour les enfants, il peut être indiqué de les mélanger à de la nourriture (compote de pommes, par ex.) du fait de leur goût.

Quelle est la dose recommandée ?

Pour les extraits granulés, les capsules ou les tablettes, veuillez consulter votre thérapeute.

Questions fréquemment posées concernant les concentrés de plantes